NCAA Division III women's hockey tournament

2020 bracket

Note: 2020 tournament canceled because of COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic.

First round
March 11
March 14
March 20
March 21
Amherst, Mass.
Wis.-River Falls
Gustavus Adolphus
River Falls, Wis.
Plattsburgh, N.Y.
Elmira, N.Y.
Middlebury, Vt.
Wis.-Eau Claire
Eau Claire, Wis.
Site TBA
Site TBA
Site TBA
Third-place game
Site TBA

Printable PDF: bracket

2020 tournament

Note: 2020 tournament canceled because of COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic.

Location, dates:

Selection show: March 9, 10 a.m. EDT,

First round: Campus sites, March 11

Quarterfinals: Campus sites, March 14.

Semifinals, finals: Campus site, March 20 and 21.

Qualifying teams: 10

Format: Teams from the same conference will not be paired to play each other in the first contest. Two first-round games are played to complete the quarterfinal field. Four quarterfinal games are played to determine the semifinal field. Semifinal winners meet in championship game. All rounds are single elimination.

Automatic qualifiers:

Pool A: Postseason tournament champions from CHC, MIAC, NEHC, NESCAC, NEWHL, NCHA and UCHC

Pool C: Three institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not their conference champions, and the remaining teams not in automatic-qualifying conferences

NCAA Division III women's ice hockey committee

Crystal Lanning, Wisconsin-River Falls athletic director (chair)

Jackie MacMillan, St. Scholastica coach

Bill Mandigo, Middlebury coach

Deborah Steward, Hobart and William Smith athletic director

David Wahlberg, UMass Boston assistant athletic director

NCAA champions

Year Champion Runner-up
2020 No tournament due to COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic
2019 Plattsburgh Hamline
2018 Norwich Elmira
2017 Plattsburgh Adrian
2016 Plattsburgh Wisconsin-River Falls
2015 Plattsburgh Elmira
2014 Plattsburgh Norwich
2013 Elmira Middlebury
2012 Rochester Institute of Technology Norwich
2011 Norwich Rochester Institute of Technology
2010 Amherst Norwich
2009 Amherst Elmira
2008 Plattsburgh Manhattanville
2007 Plattsburgh Middlebury
2006 Middlebury Plattsburgh
2005 Middlebury Elmira
2004 Middlebury Wisconsin-Stevens Point
2003 Elmira Manhattanville
2002 Elmira Manhattanville