NCAA Division I women's hockey tournament

2020 bracket

Note: 2020 tournament canceled because of COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic.

March 14
March 20
March 22
1 Cornell
Ithaca, N.Y.
4 Minnesota
Ohio State
3 Northeastern
2 Wisconsin
Madison, Wis.
Agganis Arena, Boston, BTN
Agganis Arena, Boston, BTN
Agganis Arena, Boston, BTN

Printable PDF: bracket

2020 tournament

Note: 2020 tournament canceled because of COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic.

Locations, dates:

Selection show: March 8, 9 p.m. EDT,

First round: Campus sites, March 14

Frozen Four: Agganis Arena, Boston, March 20 and 22

Qualifying teams: 8

Format: The top four teams according to the selection criteria will be seeded 1-4. The remaining four teams will be placed in the bracket based on relative strength as long as these pairings do not result in additional flights. All rounds are single elimination. More: NCAA Division I women's tournament selection process

Automatic qualifiers: Postseason tournament champions from CHA, ECAC Hockey, Hockey East and WCHA.

NCAA Division I women's ice hockey committee

Abbey Strong, Minnesota Duluth assistant athletic director (chair)

Anita Brenner, Cornell deputy athletic director

Katie Crowley, Boston College coach

Paul Flanagan, Syracuse coach

Kate McAfee, New Hampshire associate athletic director

Future sites


Frozen Four: Erie Insurance Arena, Erie, Pa., March 19 and 21


Frozen Four: Pegula Ice Arena, State College, Pa., March 18 and 20

NCAA champions

Year Champion Runner-up Site
2020 No tournament due to COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic
2019 Wisconsin Minnesota Hamden, Conn.
2018 Clarkson Colgate Minneapolis
2017 Clarkson Wisconsin St. Charles, Mo.
2016 Minnesota Boston College Durham, N.H.
2015 Minnesota Harvard Minneapolis
2014 Clarkson Minnesota Hamden, Conn.
2013 Minnesota Boston University Minneapolis
2012 Minnesota Wisconsin Duluth, Minn.
2011 Wisconsin Boston University Erie, Pa.
2010 Minnesota Duluth Cornell Minneapolis
2009 Wisconsin Mercyhurst Boston
2008 Minnesota Duluth Wisconsin Duluth, Minn.
2007 Wisconsin Minnesota Duluth Lake Placid, N.Y.
2006 Wisconsin Minnesota Minneapolis
2005 Minnesota Harvard Durham, N.H.
2004 Minnesota Harvard Providence, R.I.
2003 Minnesota Duluth Harvard Duluth, Minn.
2002 Minnesota Duluth Brown Durham, N.H.
2001 Minnesota Duluth St. Lawrence Minneapolis
2000* Minnesota Brown Boston
1999* Harvard New Hampshire Minneapolis
1998* New Hampshire Brown Boston

* -- National Championship sponsored by the AWCHA, not the NCAA, from 1998 to 2000.

NCAA tournament Most Outstanding Players

Year Winner, Position, School
2020 No tournament due to COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic
2019 Kristen Campbell, G, Wisconsin
2018 Shea Tiley, G, Clarkson
2017 Cayley Mercer, F, Clarkson
2016 Sarah Potomak, F, Minnesota
2015 Hannah Brandt, F, Minnesota
2014 Jamie Lee Rattray, F, Clarkson
2013 Noora Raty, G, Minnesota
2012 Noora Raty, G, Minnesota
2011 Meghan Duggan, F, Wisconsin
Hilary Knight, F, Wisconsin
2010 Emmanuelle Blais, F, Minnesota Duluth
2009 Jessie Vetter, G, Wisconsin
2008 Kim Martin, G, Minnesota Duluth
2007 Sara Bauer, F, Wisconsin
2006 Jessie Vetter, G, Wisconsin
2005 Natalie Darwitz, F, Minnesota
2004 Krissy Wendell, F, Minnesota
2003 Caroline Ouellette, F, Minnesota Duluth
2002 Kristy Zamora, F, Brown
2001 Maria Rooth, F, Minnesota Duluth
2000 Erica Killewald, G, Minnesota
1999 Jennifer Botterill, F, Harvard
1998 Winny Brodt, D, Minnesota