NCAA Division III men's hockey tournament

2020 bracket

Note: 2020 tournament canceled because of COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic.

First round
March 14
March 21
March 27
March 28
Wellesley, Mass.
Lake Forest
St. Thomas
Mendota Heights, Minn.
Plymouth State
Beverly, Mass.
Adrian, Mich.
Utica, N.Y.
Wis.-Eau Claire
Eau Claire, Wis.
Northfield, Vt.
Geneseo, N.Y.
HarborCenter, Buffalo, N.Y.
HarborCenter, Buffalo, N.Y.
HarborCenter, Buffalo, N.Y.

Printable PDF: bracket

2020 tournament

Note: 2020 tournament canceled because of COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic.

Locations, dates:

Selection show: March 9, 10:30 a.m. EDT,

First round: Campus sites, March 14

Quarterfinals: Campus sites, March 21

Semifinals, finals: HarborCenter, Buffalo, N.Y., March 27-28

Qualifying teams: 12

Format: Eight teams play in first-round games to fill the quarterfinal field. The committee will pair the teams regionally, based on geographic location of all participants and final seeding. Teams located more than 500 miles from one another will only be paired if it is not possible to pair them with opponents located within 500 miles. All rounds are single elimination.

Automatic qualifiers:

Pool A: Eight postseason tournament champions -- from CCC, MASCAC, MIAC, NEHC, NESCAC, NCHA, SUNYAC and UCHC

Pool C: Four institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not their conference champions and teams from conference that don't have an automatic qualifier

NCAA Division III men's ice hockey committee

Tom Di Camillo, SUNYAC commissioner (chair)

Jared Phillips, Gustavus Adolphus assistant athletic director

Craig Russell, Plymouth State coach

Mike Szkodzinski, Lawrence coach

Future sites


Championship: Herb Brooks Arena, Lake Placid, N.Y., March 25-26

NCAA champions

Year Champion Runner-up
2020 No tournament due to COVID-19 coronavirus
2019 Wisconsin-Stevens Point Norwich
2018 St. Norbert Salve Regina
2017 Norwich Trinity
2016 Wisconsin-Stevens Point St. Norbert
2015 Trinity Wisconsin-Stevens Point
2014 St. Norbert Wisconsin-Stevens Point
2013 Wisconsin-Eau Claire Oswego
2012 St. Norbert Oswego
2011 St. Norbert Adrian
2010 Norwich St. Norbert
2009 Neumann Gustavus Adolphus
2008 St. Norbert Plattsburgh
2007 Oswego Middlebury
2006 Middlebury St. Norbert
2005 Middlebury St. Thomas
2004 Middlebury St. Norbert
2003 Norwich Oswego
2002 Wisconsin-Superior Norwich
2001 Plattsburgh Rochester Institute of Technology
2000 Norwich St. Thomas
1999 Middlebury Wisconsin-Superior
1998 Middlebury Wisconsin-Stevens Point
1997 Middlebury Wisconsin-Superior
1996 Middlebury Rochester Institute of Technology
1995 Middlebury Fredonia
1994 Wisconsin-River Falls Wisconsin-Superior
1993 Wisconsin-Stevens Point Wisconsin-River Falls
1992 Plattsburgh Wisconsin-Stevens Point
1991 Wisconsin-Stevens Point Minnesota State
1990 Wisconsin-Stevens Point Plattsburgh
1989 Wisconsin-Stevens Point Rochester Institute of Technology
1988 Wisconsin-River Falls Elmira
1987 *vacant Oswego
1986 Bemidji State *vacant
1985 Rochester Institute of Technology Bemidji State
1984 Babson Union

* Plattsburgh's participation in the tournament was vacated by the NCAA's Committee on Infractions