NCAA Division I men's hockey tournament

2020 tournament

Note: 2020 tournament canceled because of COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic.

Locations, dates:

Selection show: March 22, 7 p.m. EDT (ESPNU)

Worcester Regional: DCU Center, Worcester, Mass., March 27-28

Loveland Regional: Budweiser Events Center, Loveland, Colo., March 27-28

Albany Regional: Times Union Center, Albany, N.Y., March 28-29

Allentown Regional: PPL Center, Allentown, Pa., March 28-29

Frozen Four: Little Caesars Arena, Detroit, April 9 and 11

Qualifying teams: Six automatic qualifiers, 10 at-large bids

Format: Teams are split into four regions of four teams each. In the first round, a region's No. 1 seed meets the region's No. 4 seed, and No. 2 plays No. 3. Winners play in the regional final for the right to advance to the Frozen Four. All rounds single elimination. More: NCAA Division I men's tournament selection process

NCAA Division I men's ice hockey committee

Steve Metcalf, New Hampshire associate athletic director (chair)

Mike Corbett, Alabama Huntsville coach

Mike Kemp, Omaha associate athletic director

Michael Cross, Penn State assistant athletic director

Mike Schafer, Cornell coach

Derek Schooley, Robert Morris coach

2020 bracket

First round
March 27-28
March 28-29
April 9
April 11

Future sites


Bridgeport Regional: Webster Bank Arena, Bridgeport, Conn., March 26-27

Fargo Regional: Scheels Arena, Fargo, N.D., March 26-27

Manchester Regional: SNHU Arena, Manchester, N.H., March 27-28

Loveland Regional: Budweiser Events Center, Loveland, Colo., March 27-28

Frozen Four: PPG Paints Arena, Pittsburgh, April 8 and 10


Frozen Four: TD Garden, Boston, April 7 and 9

All-time NCAA Division I tournament results

NCAA champions

Year Champion Runner-up Site
2020 No tournament due to COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic
2019 Minnesota Duluth Massachusetts Buffalo, N.Y.
2018 Minnesota Duluth Notre Dame St. Paul, Minn.
2017 Denver Minnesota Duluth Chicago
2016 North Dakota Quinnipiac Tampa, Fla.
2015 Providence Boston University Boston
2014 Union Minnesota Philadelphia
2013 Yale Quinnipiac Pittsburgh
2012 Boston College Ferris State Tampa, Fla.
2011 Minnesota-Duluth Michigan St. Paul, Minn.
2010 Boston College Wisconsin Detroit
2009 Boston University Miami Washington, D.C.
2008 Boston College Notre Dame Denver
2007 Michigan State Boston College St. Louis
2006 Wisconsin Boston College Milwaukee
2005 Denver North Dakota Columbus, Ohio
2004 Denver Maine Boston
2003 Minnesota New Hampshire Buffalo, N.Y.
2002 Minnesota Maine St. Paul, Minn.
2001 Boston College North Dakota Albany, N.Y.
2000 North Dakota Boston College Providence, R.I.
1999 Maine New Hampshire Anaheim, Calif.
1998 Michigan Boston College Boston
1997 North Dakota Boston University Milwaukee
1996 Michigan Colorado College Cincinnati
1995 Boston University Maine Providence, R.I.
1994 Lake Superior Boston University St. Paul, Minn.
1993 Maine Lake Superior Milwaukee
1992 Lake Superior *Wisconsin Albany, N.Y.
1991 Northern Michigan Boston University St. Paul, Minn.
1990 Wisconsin Colgate Detroit
1989 Harvard Minnesota St. Paul, Minn.
1988 Lake Superior St. Lawrence Lake Placid, N.Y.
1987 North Dakota Michigan State Detroit
1986 Michigan State Harvard Providence, R.I.
1985 Rensselaer Providence Detroit
1984 Bowling Green Minnesota-Duluth Lake Placid, N.Y.
1983 Wisconsin Harvard Grand Forks, N.D.
1982 North Dakota Wisconsin Providence, R.I.
1981 Wisconsin Minnesota Duluth, Minn.
1980 North Dakota Northern Michigan Providence, R.I.
1979 Minnesota North Dakota Detroit
1978 Boston University Boston College Providence, R.I.
1977 Wisconsin Michigan Detroit
1976 Minnesota Michigan Tech Denver
1975 Michigan Tech Minnesota St. Louis
1974 Minnesota Michigan Tech Boston
1973 Wisconsin *Denver Boston
1972 Boston University Cornell Boston
1971 Boston University Minnesota Syracuse, N.Y.
1970 Cornell Clarkson Lake Placid, N.Y.
1969 Denver Cornell Colorado Springs, Colo.
1968 Denver North Dakota Duluth, Minn.
1967 Cornell Boston University Syracuse, N.Y.
1966 Michigan State Clarkson Minneapolis
1965 Michigan Tech Boston College Providence, R.I.
1964 Michigan Denver Denver
1963 North Dakota Denver Chestnut Hill, Mass.
1962 Michigan Tech Clarkson Utica, N.Y.
1961 Denver St. Lawrence Denver
1960 Denver Michigan Tech Boston
1959 North Dakota Michigan State Troy, N.Y.
1958 Denver North Dakota Minneapolis
1957 Colorado College Michigan Colorado Springs, Colo.
1956 Michigan Michigan Tech Colorado Springs, Colo.
1955 Michigan Colorado College Colorado Springs, Colo.
1954 Rensselaer Minnesota Colorado Springs, Colo.
1953 Michigan Minnesota Colorado Springs, Colo.
1952 Michigan Colorado College Colorado Springs, Colo.
1951 Michigan Brown Colorado Springs, Colo.
1950 Colorado College Boston University Colorado Springs, Colo.
1949 Boston College Dartmouth Colorado Springs, Colo.
1948 Michigan Dartmouth Colorado Springs, Colo.

* -- Participation in tournament vacated by NCAA's Committee on Infractions

NCAA tournament Most Outstanding Player

Year Player, Position, School
2020 No tournament due to COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic
2019 Parker Mackay, F, Minnesota Duluth
2018 Karson Kuhlman, F, Minnesota Duluth
2017 Jarid Lukosevicius, F, Denver
2016 Drake Caggiula, F, North Dakota
2015 Jon Gillies, G, Providence
2014 Shayne Gostisbehere, D, Union
2013 Andrew Miller, F, Yale
2012 Parker Milner, G, Boston College
2011 J.T. Brown, F, Minnesota-Duluth
2010 Ben Smith, F, Boston College
2009 Colby Cohen, D, Boston University
2008 Nathan Gerbe, F, Boston College
2007 Justin Abdelkader, F, Michigan State
2006 Robbie Earl, F, Wisconsin
2005 Peter Mannino, G, Denver
2004 Adam Berkhoel, G, Denver
2003 Thomas Vanek, F, Minnesota
2002 Grant Potulny, F, Minnesota
2001 Chuck Kobasew, F, Boston College
2000 Lee Goren, F, North Dakota
1999 Alfie Michaud, G, Maine
1998 Marty Turco, G, Michigan
1997 Matt Henderson, F, North Dakota
1996 Brendan Morrison, F, Michigan
1995 Chris O'Sullivan, F, Boston University
1994 Sean Tallaire, F, Lake Superior
1993 Jim Montgomery, F, Maine
1992 Paul Constantin, F, Lake Superior
1991 Scott Beattie, F, Northern Michigan
1990 Chris Tancill, F, Wisconsin
1989 Ted Donato, F, Harvard
1988 Bruce Hoffort, G, Lake Superior
1987 Tony Hrkac, F, North Dakota
1986 Mike Donnelly, F, Michigan State
1985 Chris Terreri*, G, Providence
1984 Gary Kruzich, G, Bowling Green
1983 Marc Behrend, G, Wisconsin
1982 Phil Sykes, F, North Dakota
1981 Marc Behrend, G, Wisconsin
1980 Doug Smail, F, North Dakota
1979 Steve Janaszak, G, Minnesota
1978 Jack O'Callahan, D, Boston University
1977 Julian Baretta, G, Wisconsin
1976 Tom Vannelli, F, Minnesota
1975 Jim Warden, G, Michigan Tech
1974 Brad Shelstad, G, Minnesota
1973 Dean Talafous, F, Wisconsin
1972 Tim Regan, G, Boston University
1971 Dan Brady, G, Boston University
1970 Dan Lodboa, D, Cornell
1969 Keith Magnuson, D, Denver
1968 Gerry Powers, G, Denver
1967 Walt Stanowski, D, Cornell
1966 Gaye Cooley, G, Michigan State
1965 Gary Milroy, F, Michigan Tech
1964 Bob Gray, G, Michigan
1963 Al McLean, F, North Dakota
1962 Lou Angotti, F, Michigan Tech
1961 Bill Masterton, F, Denver
1960 Lou Angotti-*, F, Michigan Tech
Bob Marquis-*, F, Boston University
Barry Urbanski-*, G, Boston University
1959 Reg Morelli, F, North Dakota
1958 Murray Massier, F, Denver
1957 Bob McCusker, F, Colorado College
1956 Lorne Howes, G, Michigan
1955 Philip Hilton-*, D, Colorado College
1954 Abbie Moore, F, Rensselaer
1953 John Matchefts, F, Michigan
1952 Ken Kinsley-*, G, Colorado College
1951 Don Whiston-*, G, Brown
1950 Ralph Bevins-*, G, Boston University
1949 Dick Desmond-*, G, Dartmouth
1948 Joe Riley-*, F, Dartmouth

* -- recipient did not play on winning team.